If you use the Telegram messaging app and want to delete the Telegram account, read this article till the end to know more. This messaging app is not end to end encrypted. However, if you enable private chat the messages will be encrypted.
Telegram claims that your store chat data is encrypt on their servers and that they retain the information in case you want to restore old chats. However, this raises the question as why the end-to-end encryption isn’t the default setting.
This homegrown protocol with high-level encryption has actually contributed to Telegram’s rather shady reputation. It has infamously been use by terrorists to plan attacks and spread propaganda, amongst other troubling dealings.
If you are concerned about your security concerns and delete Telegram account permanently, read this article. You can also read this article where we have discussed how you can delete the Instagram account.
How To Delete Telegram Account:
There are a few different ways to delete your Telegram account. You should know beforehand that once you have deleted your account it cannot be undone. Your chats, contact list, groups, etc., will be permanently deleted, even if you download Telegram again at a later date.
Deleting by Adjusting Self-Destruction Settings
Self-destruction is one of Telegram’s security features, which sees the account deleted after a certain period of inactivity. The default self-destruct period is six months of inactivity, but you can change this to a shorter period of time, as follows:
- Log in to your Telegram account on your device and select ‘Settings’.
- Click on ‘Privacy and Security’.
- scroll down to ‘Delete My Account if I’m Away For’ and change to 1 month.
- If you refrain from using Telegram, after the one-month period is up, your account will be deleted, along with all your conversations and contacts.
Adjusting the self-destruct settings gives you the option to change your mind within the period of inactivity. Simply use the chat app and the self-destruct period will reset. If you don’t want to wait and you want to delete your Telegram account immediately, read on.
- You will be prompted to add a confirmation code, which has been sent to your mobile number.
- On the next page, you can enter a reason for leaving if you choose, before clicking ‘Done’.
- A pop up asks ‘Are you sure?’ Click ‘Yes, Delete My Account’.
- Your Telegram account is now deleted and you can remove the app from your device.
If you change your mind, it is likely to be a few days before you can create a new Telegram account.
Exporting Telegram Data
Before deleting Telegram, you may want to export your data i.e. chats, photos, and other media. You will need the latest version of Telegram Desktop to download your data in JSON or HTML formats. To export your data:
- Open Telegram Desktop and select ‘Settings’.
- Select ‘Export Telegram Data’.
- Then select ‘Export Chat History’, and choose which type of data you would like to export.
- You can now view your Telegram data offline.
If you want to change your Telegram mobile number, you can simply just click here and then continue with your new number. If your account was limited due to some spam activities, deleting your account won’t remove the limit. However, if you want to delete your account for security purpose, you can do it.