INTRO: Google Drive currently keeps all of your deleted items within the trash unless you empty it. However, the corporate is changing that behavior next month. Starting October 13, Google Drive will automatically delete items within the trash after 30 days.
That doesn’t mean that the prevailing trash items will get deleted on October 13, though. The 30-day count starts on October 13 and files will remain until they hit this timeframe.
“This change matches the policies of other G Suite products and services, like Gmail. this may help ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products, and can help confirm that items users trash are literally deleted needless to say ,” says Google.
If you’re an administrator, Google points out that you simply can still restore items from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users. Take a glance at Google’s official about-face notes below:
- Admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users.
- Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault aren’t suffering from this alteration, unless they become obsolete as they’re now redundant. Learn more about retention rules for Drive.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted via Drive File Stream are going to be purged from the system trash after 30 days. there’s no impact to Backup and Sync behavior.
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Items in the trash will still consume quota.
Google will send in-app notifications to tell users about this alteration. The banner will show up in Drive starting today and Google will start showing it in other Gsuite products like Google Docs and Google Forms from Michaelmas.